Fairytales Aren’t Just For Kids

If you really know me, then you will know that I am a huge Chris Colfer fan. If you’re reading this and wondering “Who in the heck is Chris Colfer?”, then you need to reevaluate your life.

Chris Colfer plays Kurt Hummel on the FOX hit show Glee. He is the actor and writer of Struck By Lightning that was starred in the Tribeca Film Festival. Now he is a children’s author, writing a book called The Land of Stories which hit book stores just last month. One more thing, he is a two-time Emmy nominee and Golden Globe winner.

He’s only 22 years old.

Now you wish you knew about him before I spilled my fangirlness all over you right?

Now I was fortunate to go the book signing for The Land of Stories and meet the man that makes me fall to the floor and literally scrape my knee. I didn’t mention that he has no intention of falling in love with me or any woman. He walks down a different path if you know what I mean.

Major. Fail.

With the constant train rides to work and on my free time I began to read the book that was target for children. The Land of Stories is about twins, Alex and Connor, who fall into a magical fairytale book. They go through a journey in order to get back home.

I was never a hardcore fan of fairytales. I knew about them, saw the Disney movies when I was little, (still love watching Mulan and The Little Mermaid) but I wasn’t so heavily involved. So when I began to read I was beginning to see what I was missing out on. There was a joy in reading about love, courage, bravery and everything in between.

He made me fall in love with the characters that get the end of the stick. Instead of focusing on the major princesses in fairytales, he focused on the behind the scene stories of Goldilocks and Little Red Riding Hood. What I enjoyed the most was that I learn what happens after the suppose ‘Happily Ever After’. He made it reality.

A book is only good if I can’t put it down. If I feel every emotion possible I know it’s a keeper. There were times when I was getting anxious, excited, angry, and filled with pure happiness. From beginning to end, I was drawn to know what was going to happen to Connor and Alex next.

I immediately forgot it was a children’s book because Connor and Alex present themselves as I see myself. Connor is the sarcastic, carefree brother who at times is too lazy to do anything, but when the time is right holds a responsibility to be there for his sister. On the other hand, Alex is a bookworm who strives to be as focus to learning as possible. She has a sweet personality although at times she feels lonely.

So thank you Chris Colfer, for opening my eyes to loving fairytales just a little bit more because when you think about it, there is no age limit to fairytales.

“Be brave, children,” Goldilocks said. “Courage is one thing that no one can take away from you.” 

Leave a Reply

