Dear Future Boyfriend,

People probably think this is sad that I’m writing a letter to a person I don’t know yet. They probably are laughing behind my back because they think its pathetic for a person to write to someone that doesn’t exist, that might not exist.

I just want you to laugh and think it was adorable of me for writing this and say “Hey, I’m here now. I wonder if I’m just as great as you wanted me to be.”

I don’t need you to be perfect. No one is perfect. I don’t mind imperfection. I don’t mind baggage because everyone has a suitcase or two. I’ll be understanding and I won’t judge. Just hope you do the same. I hope you’re there to listen and comfort for me when the time is right.

I hope you can handle my excessive fangirling over absolutely everything. I want you to laugh, roll your eyes, and just know not to stop me from rambling on the new episode or a new song. You don’t have to like it, but you have to at least tolerate it. It wouldn’t hurt for you to at least give it a chance, heck even go to a few things with me. I would appreciate that.

I’m not showering for compliments. One or two will be nice because a compliment will make a girl feel beautiful for days. I hope that I’m just as you expect it. When you look at me you’re not looking at anyone else the same way. When I’m with you, I don’t want to ever feel insecure because I know you like me just the way I am.

I want my stomach too hurt so bad from laughing so much. Never take life too seriously. Always try to make me laugh with your jokes even if they are corny. Boyfriend and Girlfriend are labels. I want you to count on me as a friend before a girlfriend. So don’t be afraid to be your goofy self.

Let me into your life. Just as I want you to take in all interests, let me take in yours. Don’t shut me out because I’m not educated in the area. I’ll watch a game of football, I’ll play COD* if you want. I don’t mind stopping my fangirling.

All I ask is that you do something with your life. Don’t just be a sack of potatoes. Go out and follow your dreams! Please be smart and maybe being good at something wouldn’t hurt. I can’t be the only one driven for success.

I just want you to always be someone I can go. If I need to be held while you listen for optimism, not to be put down. I want you to be completely honest with me. Communication is the key. If something is bothering you, I want you to come to me just like I would. What’s the point of a relationship if I can’t trust you?

So future boyfriend of mine, are you ready to be with me?

*COD means Call of Duty…if you didn’t know :3

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

