The Quarterback

Shame is just a wasted emotion. 

 
People find it weird or pathetic when someone cries over someone they don’t know. It’s always the same statement ‘It’s just a show’ or ‘He doesn’t even know you’.
But when you watch someone bring a smile to your face every week it sort of becomes like a routine for you. It hurts just as much as if you knew them personally. You are a part of their life as they are in yours.
That’s what I think of when I look at Cory Monteith.
I didn’t know it would hurt so much or make me cry until I realize he was gone. Until I realize I will never see him play on my favorite show ever again.

It’s a weird feeling in my stomach because this hasn’t happen to me. You’re expected to wait until you’re older with your kids, pointing to every actor or singer in the memorial on the Emmys or Oscars.
It’s scary to think that in a split second someone can be gone. Anyone not just a celebrity can just leave in an instant and you didn’t even have a chance to say goodbye.
Yesterday I cried over a television show. I cried in front of people and had to walk away and sob in the stall because it was too much. It’s sad that someone as young as Cory passed away. It’s sad that when people talk about him, it’s the one mistake he couldn’t run away from.
I cried because of his family, friends and Lea Michele, someone who was ready to spend the rest of her life with him.
It might be silly for me to make a post about a celebrity. Look at Chelsea spending her time blogging about someone that doesn’t know her.
But it goes beyond me, beyond him because as cryptic as it sounds, one day we will be gone or someone we love will be gone.
So always be grateful, hold on to the people you care about the most. It’s exhausting to be angry or spending your time hating the world.
No, I didn’t know Cory Monteith personally, but he put a dent in my heart. From what I saw, he was a shining light and even if the darkness overpowered him, he is still the light in everyone.
So prepared to have a box of tissues next to you if you ever watch the episode because even if you’re not a glee fan, this will hurt far more than a death of a character.

 

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

1 thought on “The Quarterback”

Leave a Reply

