Finding The Great Perhaps

I started off the year with a few goals in mind. My first goal was to go back into blogging. I’ve been lazy I can admit and I miss having to write about different topics. I miss the thrill of it all when someone read a post. So starting every Monday (hopefully, don’t take my word for it) I will be blogging the heck out of this website because lets face it, I can spend my whole life reblogging from Tumblr and tweeting on Twitter my favorite things. (I Β mean I can, but there’s so much more to life than that.)

Another goal I created for myself is reading more. This Christmas I received a Kindle from my parents and I must say I’m in love. My younger self would have stared at me in disbelief. I was always against the Kindle, saying having a book in your hands is better. But just finishing my first book of the year on the Kindle I realize that it’s so much easier to use. My goal this year is to read as much books as I can and write them all down, so by the end of the year I can see how many books I managed to ready.

Alongside that, one of the pros for having a Kindle is that I’m able to highlight and take notes on my favorite parts. I’m also saving a lot of money since I started borrowing from the library. Another thing my younger self would have freaked out about. I think it’s wonderful in capturing my favorite quotes from a book. A few of my favorites from Looking For Alaska by John Green, same author that wrote Fault In Our Stars, which everyone should read,Β has really made me fall in love with the book:

“I must talk, and you must listen, for we are engaged here in the most important pursuit in history: the search of meaning. What is the nature of being a person? What is the best way to go about being a person? How did we come to be, and what will become of us when we are no long? In short: What are the rules of this game, and how might we best play it?” (Green, 32)

“You spend your whole life stuck in the labyrinth, thinking about how you’ll escape it one day, and how awesome it will be, and imagining that future keeps you going, but you never do it. You just use the future to escape the present.” (Green, 54)

Those are few of the quotes that were beautifully written and by the end of the year, I hope to have pages and pages filled with quotes.

A few other goals is just to study more, to go through it ideas, save money, and just become a stronger person. Soon enough I will be twenty years old and it scares me to think that things are changing. By the end of the year I will be in my third year of college and moving into (hopefully!) my first apartment with my friends.

So I predict that 2014 is going to be a pretty good year. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

