Goodbye January!

I can’t believe tomorrow is February. The time is flying by so fast these days, so I thought I show a few of my favorite things about January. I’m thinking of doing this every end of the month, but don’t hold me accountable to it.
A book I like to wake up and read every morning is the Staying Strong: 365 Days A YearΒ by Demi Lovato. I enjoy reading a quote and learning more about who Demi Lovato is as a person. In her book, she also provides goals each day and so far I’ve been trying to accomplish them each day or try to incorporate them in my life. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants some sort of motivation or enlightenment. On Amazon, the Kindle version cost $8 dollars. In Barnes & Noble, it cost about $12 dollars. {Besides my book is my attempt at growing a plant, so far unsuccessful.}
Another favorite of mine is my actual dorm. I received some of my developed photos and I finally finished decorating ‘my wall of things’. I love it because it represents me so well. I have photos of my family, friends, and even some of my favorite celebrities filled with memories. I also have anything that was given to me as well as events that I have participated in my sophomore year of college. It’s a place I call home.
These favorites are a two parter for the fact that I love the objects and what’s on it. For Christmas, I received the Kindle Fire HDX “7 from my parents. It’s possibly the best investment ever. At first, the thought of me getting a Kindle sounded crazy. I always pictured myself reading a physical book to the very end, but after getting the Kindle I already read two books. I never want to go back to a physical book again. I am able to highlight my favorite things and read at a speed I believe is faster than I did before. Another good thing I invested in was getting a library card which helps me save money on books I’ve been dying to read. Aside from the many features of the Kindle, I have invested in a lot of apps. A good app that I’ve been using to keep track of ideas is Evernote. I am able to use Evernote on everything I own which is good because it’s sort of like iCloud. I can type anything on my Kindle and it will be shown on my iPhone and Mac. It’s the perfect app for basically anything from lists to photo saves. It’s a free app and I highly recommended to anybody.
Aside from my Kindle, if anyone knows me or seen my Facebook last month, you will know that I got the iPhone 5s. Now, if it wasn’t for my idiotic behavior of putting my iPhone 5 in a washer machine, I wouldn’t even have this phone in my possession. But seeing as I do, I love it for the fact that it’s exactly the same as my old one. The only difference is I don’t have any noisy people trying to unlock my phone seeing how there’s a touch id to get into it. I’ve even went from one phone case to four, giving me a variety of selections. (Right now I have BMO as my case :3) However, most of my apps are the same, but I invested in an app called Bloglovin’. Bloglovin’ is a website that gears towards any blogger that’s blog is centered around almost anything. This website gives a chance to follow other blogs that you are interests in reading about. It’s also a great way to get yourself out there, commenting on other blogs and adding people, so that they can check out your own blog. With this app, I am able to read it on the go when I’m away from my computer. The app is also free, but you can always look on it on your computer.
I am a BIG BIG BIG fan of lipstick. I think I get this from my mother because I can never go outside without some color on my lips. For the past two years I’ve been collecting different shades of lipsticks, mostly of the red kind, and trying to see what colors fit my complexion. So far, these four are my favorite brands and shades. On the left, is the 075 Let Me Pink and 905 Brazen Berry Maybelline lipsticks. I love these lipsticks because it feels great on my lips and it stays on all day. I love 075 because it’s not too dark and it’s not too light. I enjoy 905 because even though it looks like an in-your-face color, it complements my complexion really well. I get most of my lipsticks in drugstores, so these lipsticks were about $9 dollars.
On the right, I recently purchased a red lipstick from Forever 21. I wore for the first time last week that I showed on my Instagram (Also my default photo) and I was surprised by how long it stayed. Usually I have a love/hate relationship with Forever 21, but I couldn’t resist the color nor the packaging. I mean it even comes with a mirror! It came as a duo pack with another color, but I haven’t tried it yet. Together it was about $4, but unfortunately they don’t have anymore on their website.
Β Last, but not least, it’s the one right in the center of it all. I literally have the 103 Lasting Finish Kate Rimmel London lipstick with me at all times. Out of all the lipsticks I own, this is the one I love the most. Not only is the packaging the most hottest thing I’ve ever seen, but the color is perfection. When I put it on my lips, it feels like I’m not wearing lipstick at all. I highly highly highly recommend this brand overall. I don’t remember the price, but it’s probably similar to the Maybelline price, maybe even lower.
So I hope you enjoy just a few of my favorites from January. I have a ton of little random things, but these are the ones that stood out the most for me. Plus it’s a bonus post, I never post on Fridays!
xx

 

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

