"You are beautifully and wonderfully made."

I’ve been reading Staying Strong: 365 Days A Year for over a month now and there are 34 goals that either I have accomplished or is still in the process of accomplishing. I thought I share some of the goals presented in the book with you.

1. In this new year, come up with a mantra that is just yours. Each day, look in the mirror and repeat it back to yourself.
At the moment I am still trying to figure out what my mantra is. I thought of using ‘fearless (fill in the blank)’ in it somewhere. I use to wear a Fearless bracelet on my left wrist all the time, reminding me that whenever I felt like I couldn’t do something, I can look down and know that I can. (Unfortunately it broke last year, I don’t take that as a sign!) I hope by the end of the year, I will have a mantra that I can call my own, a mantra that gets me up every morning ready to tackle the day.

7. Be mindful of the tone of your thoughts.
I think I’ve been carrying this goal in particular for a long time. I use to have my mind clouded with negative thoughts, but now I think of the positive things in life. I feel like having negative thoughts all the time is too much work. I’ve seen negativity take a lot out of people. Not to sound cheesy in any way, but life is too short. I don’t want to spend my days complaining. I rather be living and being positive with myself and others.

15. Find something in life that makes you get up in the morning, and keep on doing that. Stand up for the things you believe in.
I wake up every morning ready to take my classes, knowing that it’s taking me one step closer to my dreams. I’m really pumped about this semester because I’m finally taking all major classes. I can finally see where these courses can take me. I feel like I have my life in order when I have a routine going on where I go to class, or work, or just blog about my life. I don’t have time to waste and I don’t think anyone should wake up thinking the day is going to suck. I’m always thinking of good things coming my way.

16. Get some perspective by doing community service or charity work. Make a list of 10-15 things or people you’re grateful for – no matter how simple or important they may seem.
At first when I wrote this, I started listing everyone’s name. But I felt like I was going to forget someone. So I’m grateful for my parents, my brothers, aunts, cousins, grandparents, and anyone that considers me a friend. Without all of you, I don’t think I’ll be the person I am today. I sometimes do feel alone, but when I get that moment with you, I feel like I’m not. I want to thank all of you for showing how important life can be with you in my life. Whether you think I’m talking about you or not, you’re just going to have to ask me yourself.

26. Sing out loud today. Make yourself laugh or dance like a fool. Treat yourself to whatever makes you happy. You deserve it!
This is basically my life every day with my friends. {No, honestly we might be the loudest people in my dorm building.} But I encourage everyone to do this by yourself or with someone, this is the best medicine anyone can have.

31. Be a fearless dreamer – the world is your oyster. Write down the top 5-10 things you want to accomplish in the next month. Never stop striving to be the best you can be!
1) Continue to blog and don’t get lazy. 2) Work hard in all my classes. 3) Exercise four times a week.
4) Find an apartment 5) Continue to accomplish the goals in the book.

Until then xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

