RIP Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou was a poet, author and political activist. Today, she dies at the age of 86, but her legacy lives on. Now, we celebrate all the great works she brought us.

I knew her name, but I never took the time to read her works. I’m embarrassed that as a writer, I haven’t opened myself to reading more from writers like Angelou or Hemingway.

I can blame it on social media. I can blame it on pop culture. But the only person I can blame it on is myself. I have sheltered myself into reading books made into movies and writers made into celebrities.

I’ll be lying if I say I didn’t like the books given to us in school. I have read many great books such as Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen and Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde that got my mind going. I began to fall more in love with reading. It inspires me everyday to start a book of my own.

This semester, I declared a minor in Creative Writing. In the fall, I will be exposed to American literature and I’m excited. I’m excited to read more books without creating the excuses of being too busy for them once school starts up again.

For now, I plan to read more this summer. I already started Divergent and I plan to finish the series and expand my reading list to more classics and more writers such as Angelou herself.

I think reading is important. I believe reading can help you becoming more creative and expressive. I love falling into another world and being apart of character’s life. I wish more people took the chance to read for fun and not just because they have to.

This week, my cousin and I are going to BookCon, a reader’s heaven. I’m excited to share with you my adventures.

What would you like to know about BookCon? Also, what are your favorite books? (I love to add it to my list!)

Until then I’ll leave you with this:

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou (April 4, 1928 – May 28, 2014)

xx

Leave a Reply

