Writing Prompt Wednesday #1

I started to keep a list of blog ideas in a notebook. I’m constantly browsing for new topics to talk about when I don’t have anything in my mind at the moment. I came across The Daily Post, an online blog dedicated to writers. From there I found 365 Days of Writing Prompts and an idea came to mind.  Every Wednesday I want to dedicate a post to a prompt that The Daily Post made.

As cheesy as it sounds I wanted it to be known as Writing Prompt Wednesday. Think it’ll stick?

I think I like the spontaneous of it all that I don’t know until Wednesday is rolling around what I’m going to write about. So here is the first of many:

The road less traveled
Pinpoint a moment in your past where you had to make a big decision. Write about that other alternate life that could have unfolded. 
 
A moment in my past that I can remember making a big decision is whether I wanted to go to a new school and major in fashion design. Since I was a little girl, I always wanted to be a fashion designer. I use to collect all my magazines and draw little outfits for a chance to learn how to make my own. I knew a girl that went to the High School of Fashion Industries and I knew I had to go there and learn. 
 
My middle school at the time was turning into a high school for the first time with my 8th grade class. I have been in the school for three years already and it provided me with so many great opportunities. Not only that, but my best friends were all there. My middle school was a growing and upcoming charter school that had the resources. It also held memories from the past three years.
 
It was a big decision for 13 year old me because was I going to stay in a school that had all these nice things or was I going to attend a new school and learn the skills to help me fulfill my dreams? 
 
I decided to go to the High School of Fashion Industries. I was going to leave my best friends, the resources and the new opportunities that I saw many of my friends get once I left.
 
If I would have stayed at my middle school, I think my life would be different. I always think things happen for a reason. I don’t think I would have liked fashion design anymore, I don’t even think I would have liked writing. I feel like I would lean towards math and science which surprises me.
 
I see a lot of trends that happened and I think I would be sporting some ink and maybe a different hair color. I definitely think my fashion sense wouldn’t be how it is now. It will be sneakers over boots and maybe even sporting a different hairstyle. I see my life completely different because I wouldn’t be connected to that side of myself that I see now.
 
As much as the alternate life interest me and makes me curious, I don’t regret my decision. I’m glad I was able to learn fashion design and realize it wasn’t for me. I’m glad it made me the person I am today and I met so many amazing people. I’m glad that I didn’t have to wear uniform or my school was downtown and had ten floors. It was a good decision to me. 

 Now it’s your turn, what is a big decision you had to make?

Until then.
xx
Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

