Writing Prompt Wednesday #6

Back to the future
Anachronism (noun): an error in chronology; a person or thing that’s chronologically out of place. Write a story in which a person or thing is out of place, or recount a time when you felt out of place.

I feel out of place all the time. I like to think I’m different than most people. Whether it has to do with what I like or what I do, I don’t think I fit in with one group of people. I always find myself day-dreaming than living. There are times in my life when I feel like I should blend in and be like others just so I don’t feel so alone.

A moment I felt out of place was when I went on my high school senior trip. I decided to go to have the experience of saying I went. Not that many people I hung out with was going, but I decided to go anyways. I don’t remember if we’ve spent a week or just a couple of days, but at one point I just wanted to go home.

I felt like I didn’t belong there or apart of their group. I remember going to the water park and leaving early. I laid on the hotel bed and wanted to cry.

I remember making up an excuse, but deep down I just wanted to fit in. I wanted to be happy for being there, but in reality I didn’t have a good time . I was surrounded by great people, but it didn’t leave a happy imprint in my mind. I wouldn’t say my senior trip was the happiest moment of my life.

There was a moment when I looked in the mirror while were getting ready and I didn’t like what I saw. I didn’t look like the people in around me.

But that was high school. You had moments in your life when you felt like you couldn’t fit in. Sometimes I have those moments, but I start thinking of memories when I do fit in. I cherish those moments when I’m surrounded by people that totally get me, that understand the things I love and the things I do.

I might be different, but that’s okay. Everyone is different, everyone is special and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Until then.

xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

