Writing Prompt Wednesday #8

Fifteen credits
Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it – or are you glad those days are over?

This Sunday I will be moving back to campus into a new dorm with a new roommate. I also can’t believe that the next day, I will start my first day of classes. I remember when I was just a nervous freshman wondering what college was going to bring me. Now, I’m going to start my third year!

I’m excited to go back to school for the fact that summer wasn’t really fun. I did a few things, but with a lack of job and the poor excuse of being an intern (a story for another day…) the summer sucked. I wasn’t earning money and as a result I stood home most the summer.

Now don’t get me wrong, I had really good memories this summer. I went to two book signings and events like Bookcon, graduations and concerts (Little Mix, Katy Perry & Ariana Grande). I became healthier, cooked more meals at home and read some amazing books (Looking For Alaska, Attachments…).

But back to discussing school, I’m interested in what my classes are going to bring me. I already know two teachers from last semester, so I’m glad I get to have them again. I’m not nervous about any of my classes because they all sound pretty fun and interesting. There’s no more focusing on requirements, but on my major and minor.

Aside from the classes themselves, the timing have their pros and cons. I love that I start at decent times such as 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m. However, in the past, I made sure that on Fridays I got out as early as possible. Sadly, I couldn’t this semester due to an important class that I have to take. So much for leaving early every time I wanted to go home.

I also look forward to joining new clubs and returning back to old clubs. I hold new positions that will give me new responsibilities. Aside from my clubs, I’m also returning to my work study job as an office assistant. I can’t wait to help out and just have something to do again. (Plus more work study money!!!)

Overall, I’m excited to learn not only in the classroom, but about myself. I’m always learning and growing in a now familiar surrounding. I have new goals this semester and I plan on accomplishing them all.

Until then.

xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

