Writing Prompt Wednesday #10

Blogger with a cause
If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

I think so many causes are important. I wish I can be involved in all of them. Before college, I was involved in a variety of causes. I use to volunteer in many places such as 92Y and theΒ Harlem Children’s Zone. My favorite thing to do is walk for many causes like the fight against Breast Cancer and Juvenile Diabetes.

Now that I’m in college, I haven’t had time to volunteer. I remember doing so much for my community and now I’m only focused on my classes. I never make the time to volunteer. I use to enjoy getting together with other people and helping out a cause.

One of my goals this semester is to volunteer again. Living in a small town, I think I’ll be able to find something to do. I wouldn’t mind doing a walk or serving food to people or even spending time with kids. I’ve done all three before.

But going back to what cause I would be behind, I would be behind causes that fight against Breast Cancer since there’s so many people I know who are either suffering from it or fought the battle. Since my freshmen year of college, I’ve been involved with the cause whether it was walking, donating or fundraising money.

Also I would stand behind any cause that builds young adults’ self esteem and confidence. I feel like it’s important for young adults especially women to feel comfortable in their own skin. There’s so many people that don’t like what they see in the mirror or feel like they aren’t good enough. This even stems from wanting to be apart of causes that prevent suicide and bullying. I’m very passionate in helping people and being a person they can talk to.

I always want to help. I want to try my best to be involved in a cause. I’m always interested to lend a helping hand and to donate.

What cause are you behind?

Until then.
xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

