Writing Prompt Wednesday #15

Childlike
Explain your biggest regret —as though to a small child.

I wouldn’t say it’s my biggest regret, but one of my regrets is not speaking up. When it comes to school, expressing myself to others or helping people when needed, I don’t do it. I think about it, but I don’t put it into action. I just keep to myself most of the time.

When it comes to school, I tell myself every semester to participate. If I participate in one class a day, then I’m satisfied. However, I sit in class and my hand is never raised. It’s not that I don’t know the information because I do. It’s something about being the center of attention and the fear of my answer not being good enough. I’ve had this issue since I started school and I hope that it’ll change.

When it comes to expressing myself to others, I’m distance. Do you ever question how much you know about me? If I’m sad, angry or uncomfortable, it might be difficult to figure that out. I don’t like telling people how I feel even if they asked. Again, I don’t like having the focus on me with feelings like that.

When it comes to helping people, I do it. However, I question whether I would be there when someone really needs help. This is a huge issue when it comes to everyone especially people in New York City. We are always in a rush and ignoring everyone around us. I always have my headphones in and walking like nothing is happening. Would I stop if someone needs help?

Now this is one of my regrets, but it doesn’t mean I still don’t have a chance to change it. I want to speak up more, let people know how I feel and help others when needed. I don’t longer want to be that girl that sits by and let people pass. Even the shyest of people have a chance to speak up. Never be afraid to speak your mind.

Until then.
xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

