Writing Prompt Wednesday #17

Intense
Describe the last time you were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something, or were surprised by the intensity of a feeling you had about something , or were surprised at how strongly you reacted to something you though wouldn’t be a big deal.

I think the last time I was surprised (and I keep surprising myself) with my feelings is when I saw Demi Lovato in concert. I know it makes some people’s eyes roll, but I’m serious. Of course when the music plays and she hasn’t shown up on stage yet, my heart starts pounding with excitement. I haven’t been this excited all semester, so when I went to see her at the Barclay’s Center, for a moment I forgot I was a college student. For a moment, I forgot everything and just focused on what was going on stage.

I sung along to every song and danced my way through them. But as soon as Joe Jonas made an appearance on that stage, that’s when I lost it. I was surprised that I was crying, tears running down my cheeks. I guess I was thinking about the high school years and the memories I made. I started to just think about my childhood and how now, I’m a third year college student looking into the real world.

Time is moving fast and I have no control over it.

After that, throughout the concert, there would be songs where I broke down. I would start thinking of the past and realizing that the future was so near. I would remember moments I was happy and moments I was sad. I realized that some songs were more important to me then I thought.

I always use to roll my eyes or laugh at the people who cried in concerts. I never understood how a song can change someone’s life or how a person they didn’t really know made them cry. But now I understood. Now I realize that every time I see her perform, my emotions get the best of me. Every time I’m surprised by how much of a big deal it is.

What was your last time?

Until then.
xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

