Writing Prompt Wednesday #18

Perspective
Think about something that drives you crazy. Now, think
about something that makes you happy. Does it change your
perspective on the former?

I think something that drives me crazy is when people are constantly complaining or judging people. As human beings we are allowed to complain. We also, as much as we try, not to judge others. It’s okay to let out some frustration every now and then. It’s great to vent to others instead of hiding so much negative energy. However, when you begin to complain about the smallest things and bring everyone down with you, that’s when it drives me crazy. How are you complaining when you have a roof over your head, a job, an education and so much more.

My mother always told me that when you start complaining over the things you don’t have, stop and think of people that don’t have a roof over their heads, that can’t get an education or even afford food on the table every day. So much energy is waste when you sit and complain about the world around you instead of doing something about it. Just for a second, think of one good thing in your life. Think of one good thing that happened to you today.

 I think what makes me happy is when others are happy. When I can laugh and smile with someone else, it makes my day brighter. I love laughing. I think everyone should laugh every once and a while. Just let loose and have fun. Don’t think about what’s going to happen. I think I’m starting to learn that more and more as I get older. When you’re happy, everything you was complaining about before is ignored. You don’t think about complaining and you just have fun.

I think people forget about that. They forget to enjoy life to the fullest. We should be creating memories, not living in the past, especially when bad memories are brought up over and over again. I want to move forward in a positive way. I believe that thinking about what makes me happy is so more rewarding than complaining all the time.

What are you going to achieve if you complain and continue to judge others for their life choices?

Until then.
xx

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

