What I Learned From Reading #GIRLBOSS

Photo Cred: #GIRLBOSS website
Photo Cred: #GIRLBOSS website

So I just finished reading #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso and I highly recommend anyone with a dream to read it!

For those who don’t know, Amoruso is founder and former CEO of Nasty Gal, an online store dedicated to clothing, accessories, and more for women.

I remember hearing so many positive reviews on this book when it came out. It’s been on my list of must reads for a while and I was glad to finally get a copy.

It was definitely worth the wait!

I felt so motivated and inspired to work even harder on my goals. I was able to take Sophia’s stories of accomplishments and obstacles to connect it to my own life.

She took a hobby and turned it into a multi-million dollar company. Her company grew as she continue to learn and fall more in love with the industry.

Before I read the book, my perception was that I was going to learn about Nasty Gal and how it became such a popular website. I didn’t expect to learn how to become a better person in the process. I’ve essentially became a #GIRLBOSS by the end of the book.

This is what I learned:

  1. In order to make your dream a reality, you have to network with others. Networking helps to build relationships with other. It gives you a chance to show people who you truly are. Amorous connected with her customers through MySpace and eBay. She created a relationship with her customers. The customers create the business, while Amorous provided a helpful and inspiring website for all women.
  2. Be prepared to wear many hats. Sophia created her business by herself. She was the CEO, the writer, the photographer, the merchandiser, and everything in between. While her business began to grow, she got an assistant and then increased into a full on staff. But, that didn’t stop her from still putting on the many hats she started with when working on Nasty Gal Vintage.
  3. Promote yourself and don’t be discourage after one rejection. When Sophia and Christina Ferrucci (her first assistant and now Buying Director of Nasty Gal) went to their first trade show, they were hit with rejections and looks, but that didn’t stop them. They presented the company and learned from their mistakes.
  4. At the end of the day, you are in control of your decisions. Don’t let the negativity of others control the direction of your goals. If you decide to let every negative opinion dictate your life than there’s less room for positivity.
  5. I learned that I am definitely an introvert and there’s nothing wrong with that. Introverts are just as capable as being leaders as extrovert. Chapter 7 was one of my favorite chapters and made me smile the most. 
  6. Grow. Listen. Research. Learn.
  7. Be confident in your own style. Don’t fall into the pressure of falling into trends or feeling like you need money.
  8. All of Chapter 11 ❤

Here are a few quotes from the book that jumped out at me:

Each time you make a good decision or do something nice or take care of yourself; each time you show up to work and work hard and do your best at everything you can do, you’re planting seeds for a life that you can only hope will grow beyond your wildest dreams. Take care of the little things – even the little things that you hate – and treat them as promises to your own future…. (Amorous, 121)

One of the best things about life – a reason not to go blindly after one goal and one goal only – is that sometimes it will take you to something that is way cooler than anything you would have consciously set out to do in the first place. (Amorous, 124)

Your challenge as a #GIRLBOSS is to dive headfirst into things without being too attached to the results. When your goal is to gain experience, perspective, and knowledge, failure is no longer a possibility. Failure is your invention. (Amorous, 136)

All humans are entrepreneurs not because they should start companies but because the will to crate is encoded in human DNA. -Reid Hoffman, cofounder of LinkedIn (Amorous, 186)

…#GIRLBOSS: Own your style like you own your used car. This means wearing what you like and what makes you feel good….Confidence is more attractive than anything you put on your body. (Amorous, 226)

Overall I love this book! I borrowed it from the library and I need to buy my own copy that’s how inspiring it was. I recommend it for anyone that wants to get into the industry, wants to start their own business and/or wants to feel motivated.

She just woke up one morning with a hernia and decide to start working. She use to spend years shoplifting and eating from dumpsters. Now, she’s owns one of the biggest companies in the world. It amazes me the roller coaster that was Sophia’s life and after it all she continues to stay true to herself. She still has a passion for fashion, customer service, and strengthening a company she worked on for so long.

So if you’re looking for motivation, #GIRLBOSS is the right book for you!

 

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

4 thoughts on “What I Learned From Reading #GIRLBOSS”

  1. I think I found my next book to read! 🙂 Thanks for doing a review on this – your points really convinced me to check it out, especially #5 (I’m an introvert too and I’m curious to see what she has to say about that in Chapter 7!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

