Writing Prompt Wednesday #19

Secret of success
What would it take for you to consider yourself a “successful blogger”? Is that something you strive for?

I can’t believe it’s been three years since I started blogging. I remember how nervous I was to start writing because I didn’t think I was going to gain any readers. But, on the flip side, I was excited because I enjoy writing. I’m a journalist, a writer, and now I was adding blogger to the list.

I’m constantly reading blogs and I’m in awe at how many readers come together to participate in someone’s post. I’m no where near that popularity, but I would love to hit that point of success in my blog that people are having a discussion on my writing.

Although I have a long way to go in having a large readership and a huge recognition, I still consider myself a “successful blogger”. I consider myself a “successful blogger” because I find happiness in writing a post. At the end of the day, I’m doing this because it interests me. Of course I would love for my posts to interest others. However, I don’t want to start writing things because it fits a certain audience or because it’s so called “popular” to write about.

I love my blog because I’m focusing on topics that I’m passionate about. I’m writing about the things that make me happy. It’s been three years since I started this blog and I have no plans on stopping now.

The goals I have on moving forward with The Social Rundown and also my side blog The Fashion Rundown is to become a better writer, to communicate better with others, and gain a readership. I don’t care about gaining money from this or become a “famous blogger.” I want to continue making my blog stronger and a place for people to go to for inspiration, advice and more!

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

1 thought on “Writing Prompt Wednesday #19”

Leave a Reply

