Post College: My First Job Rejection

I thought I was going to beat the odds and get a job right out of college.

I scored an interview with a small startup in Manhattan and just got accepted into graduate school. I saw my life after college starting on a positive note. I was going to start paying my loans, provide for my family and be an actual adult.

But life is not always that easy. In order to be consider for the job I had to send an article example to prove that I’m qualified for the position. I wrote an article, sent it in early along with a thank you note for allowing me to come in for an interview. I was so confident that I was going to get the job that I quit my actual job.

Yup. You read that correctly.

I. Quit. My. Actual. Job. Without. Waiting. To. Hear. The. Outcome. Of. The. Interview. For. Another. Job.Β 

Unfortunately, I didn’t get the position. I never heard from them and I had to face the fact that they didn’t want me on their team.

For a week, I thought I can handle being unemployed right after college. However, it’s going on two weeks and I don’t know if I can handle it. Just the other day, I had a silent panic attack in my room. It felt like Summer of 2014 all over again. (That’s when I was unemployed last.)

I began to think: Is this my life? Am I going to sit and mope about being unemployed? Am I just going to wait the next day to turn it around?

I have a habit of waiting for the next day to start my life over. I’m all about structure and when my schedule doesn’t get completed I create an excuse to start all over the next day. As a result,Β I create new goals on top of the old goals hoping for one of them to get accomplished.

But I’m done. I’m done waiting for the next day to come. I want to get things done now. There’s so many alternative things I can be doing while I job search. There’s so many events and opportunities that can help shape me as a writer, as a blogger, as a person.

It’s funny how I come to end of this blog post listening to “Hypnotize” by The Notorious B.I.G. This song holds a big significance in my life. It was this song thatΒ broke me out of my comfort zone at my college freshmen orientation (which made four years this week). I hope to use that same energy and step out my comfort zone again and again and again.

So, if you’re unemployed like me, don’t wait until tomorrow to do something about it. Don’t beat yourself up about that one rejection letter. Simply don’t. give. up. I was ready to be pulled into a dark hole because I got rejected from this one job. I was ready to wait for tomorrow to come to start all over.

But there’s so much to do and see. I refuse to just sit and do nothing. I’m going to get something done today.

 

2 thoughts on “Post College: My First Job Rejection

  1. Whoa, just read your bio on this post…are we the same person? haha
    I graduated with a degree in journalism, and after my (unpaid) internship ended a month after graduation, I was unemployed too. Well, technically “self-employed” is a nicer way of saying it…

    This post really resonated with me today because I actually wrote out a complete morning/night to-do list to follow so that I could (hopefully) start being a lot more productive. Fingers crossed! Today was the day I also researched freelance writing gigs online as a way of making a little extra cash until the whole blogging thing kicks off.

    Kudos to you for being proactive about your future! Good luck with the job hunt. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

