The One Time I Fainted (& How You Can Avoid It)

I’ve never fainted up into this point in my life. I faked it once while seeing B2K in concert, but other than that I’ve never witnessed it or been through it.

About a few months ago, I was doing my normal morning routine. I woke up, ate and began working out. If anyone has ever done Jillian Michaels’s Killer Buns & Thighs DVD then you know it’s intense despite me starting on level one.

I didn’t even get past the warm-up before I started feeling dizzy. I thought, it’s nothing. I’ll just turn on the air conditioner and drink some water. I continued and yet the dizziness increased. I felt a pain in my chest and I had to sit down because the room started spinning.

Now, I was beginning to panic. I was alone at home and I didn’t know what to do. I hope you’re reading this and you’re not judging me for what I did and what happened next.

As I slowly made my way towards the bathroom, my vision was going in and out. That’s when I fell. I don’t remember falling. It didn’t even hurt when I fell. As a result of my fall, I knocked down the bathroom garbage can and I even broke a bucket near by. I don’t even remember how long I laid there.

For some reason, I got the strength to get up and continue on to the bathroom. I turned on the faucet, stripped out of my clothes and as I was heading inside the shower I fell again. This was the second time I lost control and everything turned black.

As the cold water hit my body, I regained consciousness and the dizziness went away.

If I didn’t believe in miracles before I definitely do now. I fell TWICE. I fell in the tub. I could have hurt myself. Worst, I could have laid unconscious for HOURS until someone came home.

I made a few mistakes that day that I HOPE you understand when I tell you to follow these tips, so that this incident never happens to you:

  1. Eat a snack or drink a protein shake filled with nutrients before working out. Once completed, wait 30 minutes to an hour before starting.

I made the mistake of eating a small granola bar and drinking a small cup of water before doing an intense workout. According to Jillian Michaels’s website, “You should always eat something before exercising so your body has enough fuel to power through your workout.” 

2. Breath, pace yourself and drink water if needed.

Already I didn’t have enough food in my system and I jumped into a workout without giving myself breaks. I didn’t pace myself correctly and I didn’t give myself the proper H2O in my body. According to Gary Guerriero in a Huffington post piece ‘8 Things You Should Never Do During Your Workout,’ he specifies that holding your breath can lead to blood pressure soaring and disruption in your chest.

3. The second you feel dizzy. Stop.

The first time I felt something wasn’t right, I should’ve stopped. If you feel any discomfort that you never felt before while working out. Stop. Your well being is more important than finishing a DVD. According to Healthline, “Sit or lie down immediately when you feel dizzy and rest until the dizziness goes away. This can prevent the possibility of losing your balance, which may lead to falling and serious injury.

4. DON’T GO INTO A TUB IF YOU JUST BLACKED OUT ONCE.

Trust me, I’m judging myself just reliving this. The right thing to do is continue to drink some water, rest and call someone. Call anyone. I was so afraid to call the police or the ambulance or even my parents. I thought I had it under control and I didn’t. Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Today, I did the same workout for the first time since that happened. I was a little cautious the whole time. I didn’t want it to happen again because it was one of the scariest moment in my life. So please, don’t make the same mistakes I did and take it easy!

One thought on “The One Time I Fainted (& How You Can Avoid It)

Leave a Reply

