Protect Young Bronx Girls

I was born and raised in the Bronx. I’ve only moved out of the Bronx once, but the borough has always been my home.

According to the NYPD stats, there’s a 21.44 percent decrease of crime rates in the Bronx from last year. But despite the decrease, I’ve seen one case circulating on my news feed.

In recent news, teen Bronx girls have gone missing for over the past two years. In June alone, six teens have gone missing with two vanishing on the same day. These girls are vanishing in areas I’m familiar with, in areas I’ve walked or pass through.

Most of these girls, if not all, are Latina or Black, who are between the ages of 12-19. According to City Councilmember Andy King, he believes these girls were kidnapped and forced into a sex-trafficking ring (which I learned was a fabricated story and 11 out of the 14 girls have returned to their families).

Although there’s a confusion among this case, the situation is sadly all too common. Young girls are still missing. All women still have to go through constant precautions to be safe.

I never understood why my parents were overprotective as a child. I found it overbearing because they wanted to know where I was and who I was with at all times. I envied my brother because he didn’t have to go through the fear I was instilled.

So, I came home at a reasonable time. I was anxious about what I wore. I looked around at all times. Yet…

At the end of the day, girls are still being kidnapped despite dress, age or race. Girls are still being taken and tricked into games that adults are playing. How many times a day am I going to get a signal boost or warning for dangerous people in my area?

It’s disappointing that we live in a society that teaches females how to go the extra mile to feel safe. It’s disappointing how care-free girls can’t act care-free in fear of what happened or what is happening to girls around the city, around the Bronx, on a daily basis.

Someone pointed this out perfectly: Why is it that we are quick to get Amber alerts for white suburban children, but automatically are quick to label missing children of color as “runaways?” Why am I now seeing people learn about the 14+ girls in August when media outlets covered it in June?

So please, protect these young girls from every borough, every city, every country. Protect all females and males. PROTECT THEM.

How many more children need to disappear before we get more media coverage and knowledge on the issue?

Leave a Reply

