How To Get Over The Post Grad Funk

When I returned to blogging, I wrote a post called Post College: My First Job Rejection. Once I hit the publish button, I felt a sense of relief. I was moving on from the rejection and continuing my job search.

However, I was beginning to get discouraged. How many jobs was I going to apply for with no answer? What was I doing wrong?

My endless variations of ‘editorial assistant‘ turned to ‘sales associate.’ I found myself returning to the depths of hell I wanted to avoid.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m grateful that I have A JOB, but it’s not THE JOB that I want. For a moment, I thought this was going to be my life. I was going to be stuck here, dealing with customers that didn’t give a damn about my predicament.

I laid in bed, exhausted from my job and I wondered: Was I doing enough? I’m alive and breathing, but was I living? I was getting up, going to work and then falling asleep. I wasn’t writing, I wasn’t accomplishing my goals and I wasn’t motivated.

I began second guessing myself and making excuses for not doing things. But the key to getting out of that funk, the number one key is….

SUPPORT

I have support all around me. My mother got me out of my funk. She encourage me to continue on the long search.

When I was nervous about a networking event, she told me to go for it. I had to step out of my comfort zone and put myself out there. If I made myself look like a fool then it didn’t matter because at least I tried.

So I did just that. I went to my second networking event and threw it out of the park. I spoke to editors, I connected with people and I felt motivated to reach for the career I wanted.

I was surrounded by people that was struggling just as much as I was. Everyone felt awkward and out of place until we began talking about our passions and our obstacles.

Another key is venting. It can be at a networking event or just hanging out with friends. Chances are someone feels the same way. By expressing yourself, you’re not letting things bottle up inside and drive you crazy.

I had a great lunch with a friend and we talked about our post grad life. We came to the realization that we will face obstacles in our journey to our ultimate career goal. Aside from the struggles, we were able to talk about things we enjoy. We had a day to ourselves to forget about the stress we placed upon ourselves.

unnamed-2

The third key is to have fun! All I’m thinking about throughout the day is work, school, writing for publications etc. Overall, I’m stressed out. I want to do everything at once and find solutions to it all, but I can’t. Some issues just aren’t in my control.

So I took a step back and decided to live. I still have things to accomplish, but I still have to live my life. I have to go out and have fun. I got the opportunity to go on the East River Ferry and feel like a tourist in my city. It was a chance to do something I’ve never done before and I enjoyed it.

I saw most of Brooklyn, went under the Brooklyn Bridge and saw a great view of Manhattan with my family. The ride was only $18 for an all-day pass. I found this great summary of each stop the East River Ferry takes us and I followed that throughout the day.

DSCN3239

Final key is to stay positive. Sometimes we’re so overwhelmed with all the wrong things happening that we forget to stay positive. We believe that our goals will never get accomplished.

In order to stay positive, I think about these three components. I have a support system that guides me to motivation. I’m able to vent with friends and express our frustrations. Also I’m trying to have fun and enjoy life. I don’t want my stress to dictate how to live life.

In due time, you’ll find time to get out of your post grad funk.

One thought on “How To Get Over The Post Grad Funk

Leave a Reply

