The One Thing I’m Giving Up For Lent

In the beginning of every month, I have a habit of jotting down my weight. I’ve become obsessed with seeing the progress I’ve made. However, this month I’m disappointed.

I gained four pounds.

Now, usually I try my hardest to not let weight define who I am. I’m a huge advocate in not letting the scale stop me from continuing to work towards my goal.

But I’m human and I always have negative whispers in the back of my mind. One insecurity always leads to another.

As human beings, we tend to keep our insecurities to ourselves, pushing them as far as we can in the back our minds. However, I’m trying to change that this month.

In March, there’s a lot going on. Between religious traditions like Ash Wednesday to dedicating every day to women, this month is jammed packed with learning about the past and planning for the future.

When it comes to Lent, I haven’t participated in a long time. I don’t find myself very religious nor interested in these traditional practices. However, the meaning behind Lent has always been interesting to me.

Lent is the period of 40 days which comes before Easter in the Christian calendar. Beginning on Ash Wednesday, Lent is a season of reflection and preparation before the celebrations of Easter. By observing the 40 days of Lent, Christians replicate Jesus Christ’s sacrifice and withdrawal into the desert for 40 days.” – BBC

Aside from people giving up materialistic and minimal things such as chocolate, social media, etc. Lent can be a great way to replace negative thoughts with positive ones. I vow in the month of March and hopefully beyond to continue to work against these negative sayings:

  1. I’ve made no progress and therefore should just quit working out.
  2. I’m a terrible writer who sucks at grammar and runs from critiques.
  3. I’m in my second semester of grad school and still have no idea what I want to do with my life. 

These fears mobilize inside my mind on a regular basis. Whether is gaining four pounds or being in a crowded room and feeling completing incompetent, insecurities play on a constant loop and I believe are preventing me from moving forward.

So this month, I’m flipping the script:

  1. Despite the lack of physical progress, I’ve made mental progress in appreciating the body I have.
  2. I love writing. I’m allowed to make mistakes and learning from them can make me a stronger writer. 
  3. There’s no timeline in deciding what career path to take.  

Just writing down the positive sayings made me hopeful for tomorrow. It’s all about switching up and making yourself feel good. Aside from these phrases, there’s a quote I check every so often to let myself know today doesn’t have to define tomorrow.

“REPEAT AFTER ME: ‘My current situation is not my final destination'” -Unknown

So, find yourself a quote, an image, a person or even create your own sayings to replace those negative thoughts in your mind. Let March be a time for rejuvenation and reevaluation.

Feature Image: Jacob Meyer

Author: chelseacandelario

Chelsea Candelario is a recent graduate from SUNY New Paltz with a bachelor's degree in journalism. In the fall, she will be attending City College for a master's in public relations. Currently, she's a freelance writer looking for an opportunity to write and incorporate social media along with her writing. She strives to make a difference in her community through her passion for providing news and culture.

Leave a Reply

