The 23-Year-Old Crisis: What Makes YOU Unique?

What makes you unique?

It’s one of the many questions I have to answer every time (literally and metaphorically) when I’m submitting cover letters, filling out applications or talking in interviews to potential companies. The one question I don’t know how to answer.

It’s difficult for me to talk about myself. It’s even more difficult to pinpoint how I stand out from the crowd.

When I use to do icebreakers, I always had the same go-to answer:

Hi, I’m Chelsea, I’m from New York and my unique fact is that I’m left-handed.

Yes, I took a physical attribute and made it my unique fact. But, after freshman year, a professor pointed out that it wasn’t unique at all. Imagine, freshman year Chelsea, painfully shy, digging herself a hole from his remark. Thanks Comp I professor!

Since then, I dread ice breakers (who doesn’t?) and I don’t use being left-handed as a unique fact. So, it begs to question then, what makes me unique?

So, I decided to do some research to help me figure out what makes an individual unique. What can I do in job interviews, cover letters, ice breakers, or twitter bio?

I searched ‘what make you unique?’ on Google to see what would come up first:

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 11.13.49 PM

I was expecting service articles focusing on how to answer the million dollar question. The top site to come up was Quora which is similar to Yahoo Answers. I’ve heard about the site before, but wasn’t familiar with what it offered. When I pressed the link,  I was surprised by the answers individuals gave to the question.

Here are a few that blew me away and brought things into perspective:

I was surprised by how informative, inspiring, and motivating these answers were. From CEOs to students, they all have different point-of-views on this one question. They all had their own expertise and personal experiences on the matter. I felt all the answers were honest and sincere.

Lately, I’ve been applying to a lot of jobs and internships. It’s around the time where I start to feel hopeless, similar feelings to what I pointed out in a blog post I wrote last year.

Sometimes, I have a hard time believing life isn’t linear. Five years ago, I thought I wanted to be a fashion journalist. Now, I’m not sure. Do I want to do editorial, marketing, public relations or none of the above? What am I searching for?

Before, I can figure out my career. I need to figure who I am and where I am at this moment in my life. Is this  a 23 year old crisis? Honestly, I’m unsure about a lot of things, but this thread gave me a sense of hope.

So, if you don’t know what makes you unique? That’s okay, but just remember this:

Featured Image: Dakota Corbin

Leave a Reply

